Houston…do you read me?

Write on my wall, tweet me, tell me where you are,  like me, connect with me, tell me what’s hot what’s not??, tag me, comment on my post, follow me, react to me, chat with me , poke me, google me, disqus me, quora it, email me??? (dying I know), flicker me…ok, enough I think you get my point. The internet has leapfrogged into a whole new jargon and meanings that no one would have been able to interpret just few years ago and its new tools that are built around the new digital social fabric are becoming more powerful and creative by the day, empowering us and leaving a high impact on whatever we do in our life, be it for business, fun or any other purpose.

What we are living today in my opinion is the climax stage of the information age. Just twenty years ago, we had to go to a library to do our research, we had to use costly mediums to market to a limited audience and we had to call friends to invite them to a party…examples just to name a few. All three activities can be taken care off today from the comfort of one’s house without the need to go out, to talk to humans,  to see the sun.

Although we are getting more and more into the eye of the revolution in this information age, we are starting to miss out more on the human factor. Gradually, we are satisfying more needs that involved frequent interactions and communication with others by clinging to our laptops, ipads, iphones, etc. and exploring what the web with its fantastic offerings has for us everyday.

I am no social psycho analyst trying to see the measured effect of this trend on every one’s life. That requires years of research. However, it all starts for me from personal awareness on how we should think in the future about managing our new life while making best use of the digital world and leveraging the importance and sheer joy of engaging in direct human relations . So instead of going through your friend’s 500 photo album for 1 hour tonight, call him/her and go for a coffee.

4 responses to “Houston…do you read me?

Leave a Reply

